Oceanside 70.3, the Timex Camp, and Plenty of Sun

While the benefits of traveling to sunny SoCal during these months are many and can easily stand on their own, from our point of view, visiting SoCal in April is especially exciting, as we not only attend an Ironman event (that we sponsor), we also get to spend time with the Timex Team Camp (that we sponsor). Talk about getting “two for the price of one!”

This was the first event that WTC was totally in charge of and I have to say, I was impressed. They had everything laid out perfectly. I just wish the expo and registration were at the same place because with the split venue, there isn’t a compelling reason for participants to visit the expo, so the first day was slow… but on the second day – holy crap, it was out of control! We were swamped with people visiting us non-stop at the booth, and I must say that it was quite awesome. We just about sold through everything we brought, which means two things: there’s less inventory for us to bring back home with us, and, more importantly, a ton of people are using and experiencing the many benefits of our products and education!

Race day was a lot of fun – it was great to see Matt Reed take the win, especially since he’s been using our products for years and that makes us extra proud of him and his accomplishment!

After I watched Matt cross the line it was time to focus on my own training, so I snuck out for a 4.5 hour ride before heading up to the Timex Camp. It’s always a pleasure to ride in SoCal – I love the wind that rolls off the beach and I enjoy seeing the number of cyclists that are out on the road.

Upon my arrival at camp, I was instantly impressed with the athletes that were in attendance. Sugoi is the new apparel sponsor and holy crap, they’ve done an awesome job with the uniforms this year; the kits really look great. I had two sessions with the campers: one was teaching a “RE-Gen” class and the other was a seminar on “why and how” we do what we do.

So I showed up for the first session (the RE-Gen class), which was at 8am… Keep in mind this was after everyone had gone out the night before, so honestly I wasn’t expecting many people to show up. All I can say is “Wow!” – we had almost everyone at camp attend the class, there were 30+ athletes ready and willing to get their “roll on”.

It was great because this gave me time to really help the athletes understand exactly what it is our products do. So after just over an hour, nearly everyone that attended took our product away from the class to use on their own. Tristan, the Timex Team manager, wasn’t expecting the attendees to take all of the Trigger Point kits that were there (they were intended for the pro athletes), but as one person said, “Come on this is the stuff that allows me to race, and there’s not a chance I am going to leave this behind. If I have to pay to play I’m cool with that. I just got to get my roll on for good now!”

Pretty funny stuff, and it just reinforces how effective and addictive our stuff is.

Later in the day I took all of the athletes through the “hows and whys” – I showed them movement patterns from before and after rolling so that they could see the difference in their own biomechanics. We had a solid hour of seminar – it was very interactive – and the reviews came back very positive.

All in all it was a great week of training, racing, and teaching. Oh and I worked with several of the athletes one-on-one, which is what I really love to do. I took several athletes from pain to running and riding pleasure. The power of our products always impresses me, but I guess it’s not what our products do, it’s actually the massage that our products create, that allow the products to do what they do… 😉

Until next time, keep on rollin’, and enjoy these pictures from the weekend. -Cassidy

 

 

Me (Cassidy) at our Trigger Point Booth

Me (Cassidy) at our Trigger Point Booth

 

Watching the run portion of the race

Watching the run portion of the race

One of the Timex Team Members grabs a snack

One of the Timex Team Members grabs a snack

 

Just playing with our new zoom lens... :-)

Just playing with our new zoom lens... 🙂

 

Helping a Timex Runner battle a Plantar Fasciitis issue

Helping a Timex Runner battle a Plantar Fasciitis issue

 

One of the Timex Team Members smiles for our camera

One of the Timex Team Members smiles for our camera

 

Timex athlete rolls out his soleus with our Footballer

Timex athlete rolls out his soleus with our Footballer

Timex Camp attendees at our ReGen class

Timex Camp attendees at our ReGen class

Leave a Reply

