Congrats to Erich Wegscheider

We’re always proud to see one of our athletes come away with a great race so we wanted to share Erich’s race report from the Silicone Valley International Triathlon in San Jose over the weekend.

Check out his blog post below:

“Race week has come and gone and reflection time has set in. As I mentioned before, this race’s purpose was to see how well my fitness is coming along. I’m happy to say that it’s coming along just fine, but there’s still a lot I need to work on. Here’s how the day unfolded:

To get in 1,500 meters, the swim course zigzagged in the pond known as Almaden Lake. I felt good in the water and swam alone for the most part – most people seemed to have added a few extra zigzags. The sun might have played a part in that, but not for me. I swam in Blue Seventy’s Hydra Vision mirrored goggles and they were nothing short of wonderful. Low profile design, wide viewing angle, and mirrored lenses made for a worry-free swim. I exited the water in 3rd position.

I’m quite familiar with the bike course, being that the Wednesday Nighter loop is almost identical to it, minus a few turns. The course is also notorious for being fast, but a steady headwind on the way out changed that. Establishing a solid rhythm proved to be difficult, but I was steadily making up ground. After the turnaround, I pushed a bigger gear and moved into first, but only by seconds.

Starting the run, I was neck and neck with another athlete in my age-group. I was feeling quite comfortable with the pace and led the way until the 3-mile mark, where I put in a little surge. The little surge put quite a distance between the two of us and I carried on strong. At that point, I knew no one was going to be able to catch me if I kept that pace and I did just that.

I finished 1st in my age-group and after looking through the preliminary results, I was 5th overall and the 1st overall amateur. As usual, I’m nit-picky about how my day went, but am happy overall. I didn’t have my fastest swim, but considering I’ve been logging a lot of time in the pool with a new stroke, my swim strength isn’t quite there yet. I am disappointed with my bike split, but after learning the course was over a mile long, I felt a bit better about it. As for the run, it was a personal best. My coach thinks that had I not ran the first 3-miles with the other athlete, I probably would have put in a faster run split – I don’t doubt that.

My next triathlon is about a month away from now and I’m excited to get back to work!”

Read more about Erich here.

One thought on “Congrats to Erich Wegscheider

Leave a Reply

