Spotlight on Trigger Point Sponsored Athlete: Paul Smith

Paul Smith is competitive age-group triathlete for the past three years who is Trigger Point-sponsored athlete. When he isn’t training and racing, he is an elementary school teacher. He even finds time help coach runners and triathletes at Fleet Feet-Knoxville. If that doesn’t sound like enough, Paul also is on the board of directors for a local multisport club called Rockytop Multisport.

“I am a very passionate person who loves to train and race. I love the Trigger Point U6 kit for it allows me to stay healthy and doing what I love to do!” Said Paul recently after his second place finish in his age-group (18th overall) at the Foothills Sprint Triathlon in Maryville, TN on Memorial Day.

“It was an extremely hot and humid morning showing up for the race,” recounts Paul. “It was very refreshing getting into the water. I had a solid swim making up the difference on three athletes who started ahead of me. I made a quick T1 and got on the bike and hammered on a fairly hill course averaging 21mph. This ending up be not the best idea for I paid for it when I left out of T2 for the run. My legs were very heavy, but I pushed through and held on to 18th overall and 2nd in my age group.”

Congrats to Paul on his accomplishment and we look forward to seeing more results such as this over the summer triathlon season!

Leave a Reply

